asia cup 2018

Update: Pakistan Cricket Board has selected the 16-member squad for Asia Cup 2018. The PCB announced the final list on Twitter.

The members are:

  1. Sarfraz Ahmed (Captain)
  2. Fakhar Zaman
  3. Shoaib Malik
  4. Mohammad Amir
  5. Shadab Khan
  6. Imam ul Haq
  7. Shan Masood
  8. Babar Azam
  9. Asif Ali
  10. Haris Sohail
  11. Mohammad Nawaz
  12. Fahim Ashraf
  13. Hasan Ali
  14. Junaid Khan
  15. Usman Shinwari
  16. Shaheen Afridi

The upcoming Asia Cup 2018 tournament is just around the corner. Teams are eager to get their hands on the beautiful trophy!

After the success of Pakistan in Champions Trophy 2017, it is one of the favourites which will play against other teams, including its rival, India!

Asia Cup 2018 Venue

Asia Cup 2018 was to be hosted by India this year, however, due to the political unrest between India and Pakistan, the venue has shifted to the United Arab Emirates.

The request was given by Pakistan Cricket Board, which was accepted by the Executive Board of the Asian Cricket Council in Kuala Lumpur on Tuesday.

Asia Cup 2018: Mohammad Hafeez to be Axed from the Squad: Source

The decision came following protest from Pakistan that if India refuses to send its players to the country for the ACC Emerging Teams’ Asia Cup, it won’t send its players to India for Asia Cup.

The Emerging Teams’ Asia Cup will now be co-hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka, with the latter set to host the majority of the matches. The tournament has, however, been shifted from April to December.

“The ACC deliberated on the matter and decided that this was the best way forward,” Sethi was quoted as saying yesterday.

“All decisions were unanimous. All participants agreed to support the return of international cricket to Pakistan subject to certain constraints. That’s why the ACC Annual General Meeting will be held in Lahore and the BCCI has pledged to participate in it like all other ACC members. That’s why a number of matches of the Emerging Asia Cup will be played in Pakistan,” -Najam Sethi

Asia Cup 2018 Tournament Dates

The cup will kick off in September. The tournament will commence from the 13th-28th, in Dubai and Abu Dhabi.

Asia Cup 2018 Teams

The tournament will have 6 teams competing for the beautiful trophy, they include the following;

  • Pakistan
  • India
  • Bangladesh
  • Sri Lanka
  • Afghanistan

The 6th team will be added after being shortlisted from Afganistan. Hong Kong, Nepal, Oman, and UAE.

Pakistan’s 18-Man Asia Cup Camp Squad

Pakistan’s 18-man squad for Asia Cup 2018 Camp has been announced. The national selectors chopped the 26 potential men down to 18 for the final phase of training.

The squad was announced by chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq after feedback and discussions with skipper Sarfraz Ahmed and Mickey Arthur.

The squad consists of:

  1. Fakhar Zaman
  2. Imam-ul-Haq
  3. Shan Masood
  4. Mohammad Hafeez
  5. Babar Azam
  6. Shoaib Malik
  7. Asif Ali
  8. Haris Sohail
  9. Sarfraz Ahmed
  10. Shadab Khan
  11. Mohammad Nawaz
  12. Imad Wasim
  13. Hassan Ali
  14. Usman Khan Shinwari
  15. Mohammed Amir
  16. Junaid Khan
  17. Shaheen Shah Afridi
  18. Faheem Ashraf

Asia Cup 2018 Schedule 

Group Stages

 18th September Pakistan vs. Qualifier Team
Bangladesh vs. Sri Lanka
19th September India vs. Qualifier Team
20th September Afghanistan vs. Sri Lanka
21st September Pakistan vs. India
Bangladesh vs. Afghanistan

Super 4 Round

23rd September 1st Group A vs. 2nd Group B
24th September 1st Group B vs. 2nd Group A
25th September 2nd Group A vs. 2nd Group B
26th September 1st Group A vs. 1st Group B
27th September 1st Group A vs. 2nd Group B
28th September 1st Group B vs. 2nd Group B
30th September Final

Ahmed Shehzad Likely to be Banned for Six Months: Reports