India and Pakistan will face off in Dubai after drawing the same group for this year’s Asia Cup, the International Cricket Council announced Tuesday.

India suspended bilateral cricket ties with Pakistan after the 2008 Mumbai attacks but the two teams continue to play each other in international tournaments, including the Champions Trophy final in England last year.

This year’s Asia Cup was originally set to be held in India but was shifted to the United Arab Emirates because of strained relations between New Delhi and Islamabad.

The biennial tournament will begin September 15 in with Sri Lanka taking on Bangladesh in the opener, the ICC said.

The Cup reverts to its traditional 50-over ODI format this year after opting in 2016 for a Twenty20 competition, which India won.

Asia Cup 2018 Schedule

Group Stage

15 September – Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka (Dubai)
16 September – Pakistan vs Qualifier (Dubai)
17 September – Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi)
18 September – India vs Qualifier (Dubai)
19 September – India vs Pakistan (Dubai)
20 September – Bangladesh vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi)

Super Four

21 September – Group A Winner vs Group B Runner-up (Dubai)
21 September – Group B Winner vs Group A Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)
23 September – Group A Winner vs Group A Runner-up (Dubai)
23 September – Group B Winner vs Group B Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)
25 September – Group A Winner vs Group B Winner (Dubai)
26 September – Group A Runner-up vs Group B Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)


28 September – Asia Cup 2018 Final (Dubai)

Asia Cup 2018 Qualifiers

The main event would be preceded by a qualifier that would be played in India and will feature six teams:

  • Hong Kong
  • Malaysia
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Singapore
  • United Arab Emirates

The winner of the qualifier will take part in the main event that starts on September 18 in UAE.

Asia Cup 2018 Groups

Group A Group B
India Bangladesh
Pakistan Sri Lanka
Qualifier Afghanistan

Asia Cup 2018 Squads

The Asia Cup 2018 squads would be updated here as soon as they are announced.