UPDATE: Peshawar Zalmi defeated Islamabad United by 24 runs in its first match of Pakistan Super League T20 2016.

After winning the toss and opting to bat first, Peshawar Zalmi scored 145-7 in their 20 overs helped by Tamim Iqbal’s half century (51). Andre Russel of Islamabad United took three wickets (31/3). Chasing 146 runs target, Islamabad never looked better on the score card as their wickets continued to fall after quick succession and they were no where in the race. Mohammad Asghar and Wahab Riaz took  three wickets each and played a key role in restricting Islambad United to 121-9.

Asghar received Man of the Match award from students of Army Public School.

Peshawar Zalmi, led by cricketing hero Shahid Khan Afridi, is starting off its PSL T20 campaign today against Islamabad United.

Having huge support of people even from other regions of Pakistan, Peshawar Zalmi is being considered favorite for this edition of PSL and will be seen in action for the first time today.

No need to say that the prime focus will be the star cricketer Shahid Afridi, loved by millions of fans not only in Pakistan but also across the globe.

Zalmi Team

By the cards, Peshawar Zalmi has a better chance of winning with having players like Afridi, Hafeez, and Wahab Riaz in their squad who are currently part of the national team.

Islamabad United will be under huge psychological pressure after the humiliating defeat of last night. We have to watch if Misbah-ul-Haq brings his boys back to business to give a tough time to the opponents.

PSL T20 2016 Opener: Quetta Gladiators Beat Islamabad United By 8 Wickets

Peshawar Zalmi Squad:

Shahid Afridi (c), Wahab Riaz, Darren Sammy, Kamran Akmal, Muhammad Hafeez, Chris Jordan, Tamim Iqbal, Junaid Khan, James Allenby, Aamir Yamin, Dawid Malan, Imran Khan Junior, Shahid Yousaf, Abdur Rehman, Mohammad Asghar, Brad Hodge, Israrullah, Taj Wali, Musadiq Ahamd, Hassan Ali

Islamabad United Squad:

Shane Watson, Andre Russell, Misbah ul Haq (c), Samuel Badree, Mohammad Irfan, Brad Haddin, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Sami, Khalid Latif, Babar Azam, Imran Khalid, Kamran Ghulam, Umar Amin, Sam Billings, Rumman Raees, Amad Butt, Ashar Zaidi, Saeed Ajmal, Umar Siddiq