Indian Premier League, also popular as IPL is one of the biggest cricket leagues worldwide. Top notch players from all across the globe join the league and come to play for their respective teams. Until now 8 seasons of IPL have been played and the fans just cannot wait for the 9th season.

The detailed schedule and timetable of IPL 9 2016 have not been announced until now, however, it has been revealed that the ninth edition of the VIVO Indian Premier League is set to begin on April 8th with the final scheduled for May 29, 2016.

There is a total of 60 matches including 2 qualifiers and 1 eliminator leading to the finals. 

Pune and Bangalore will be hosting one of the play-off matches and an eliminator round while the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai will be the final match venue. The very first match of VIVO IPL 9 will also be played at Mumbai.

As Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings are out of IPL until 2017, there are two new teams of Rajkot and Pune that will join the league. Each team will be playing the other twice in IPL 9.

IPL 9 Teams Participating:

The 8 participating teams are mentioned below:

  • Delhi Daredevils
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Kings XI Punjab
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Rising Pune Supergiants
  • Gujarat Lions

Many players were seen in the auction event since players from Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals were to find new teams for the next 2 years.  The teams consisted of players lik MS Dhoni, Steve Smith, R Ashwin, Ravi Jadeja, Brendon McCullum, Ajinkya Rahane and many more.

IPL 9 Players List:

View the Team Sqaud for each of the 8 teams below:

100 cricketers including 36 overseas players have been retained by the VIVO IPL 9 franchises. Here’s the list of players retained by the VIVO Indian Premier League’S eight teams:



Players Drafted By Pune

  • Mahendra Singh Dhoni
  • Ajinkya Rahane
  • R Ashwin
  • Steve SmithFaf Du Plessis

Players Drafted by Rajkot

  • Suresh Raina
  • Ravindra Jadegja
  • Brendon McCullum
  • James Faulker
  • Dwayne Bravo


Both these teams had a 66 Crore capital out of which 39 Crores was spent on the 5 players.

Tickets for the IPL opening ceremony can be booked from BookMyShow & Ticketgenie. The IPL 9 tickets will also available at retail outlets in cities where the matches are to be played. They will also be available at the stadium box office at all the venues where the matches are to be held.

The final schedule will be finalized by BCCI at a later date with match venues, dates and Indian times IST.

8 Times PSL 2016 Was More Than Just Cricket

Stay tuned to Brandsynario for more updates.