Suryakumar Yadav took a stunning catch to dismiss David Miller in the final over of the T20 World Cup 2024 final to seal India’s victory, however, the catch has sparked a heated debate. Was it a fair dismissal, or did South Africa get robbed of their first World Cup title?

With South Africa needing 16 runs off the last over, Hardik Pandya bowled a low wide full toss to Miller. The South African batter heaved it towards long-off, where Yadav pulled off a brilliantly judged catch right on the boundary line.

The catch, which Ian Smith called “one of the greatest in cricket history,” seemed to seal the win for India. But soon after, questions arose about its legitimacy.

The Controversy

As Suryakumar Yadav ran backwards to catch the ball, he juggled it and went over the boundary rope to avoid touching it with his feet. He then jumped back into the field of play and held onto the ball. The third umpire, Richard Kettleborough, reviewed the footage quickly and declared the catch legal, ending Miller’s innings and South Africa’s hopes.

However, social media erupted with claims that Yadav’s shoe had touched the boundary rope. Further scrutiny revealed that the boundary ropes seemed out of position before the catch.

The Rules at Play

According to ICC playing conditions, the rope constitutes the boundary, not the white line. Section 19.3 states that if a solid object marking the boundary is disturbed, it should be considered in its original position. It also states that if disturbed, the boundary marker should be returned to its original position as soon as possible.

A closer look at the catch showed Yadav’s foot over the white line but in front of the cushioning. This incident drew parallels to a similar controversy during the 2023 ODI World Cup, where a displaced boundary rope in the Pakistan-Netherlands match led to confusion.

What Do You Think?

The debate is far from settled. Some fans believe that South Africa was unfairly denied their first World Cup title due to an incorrect call, while others argue that India won fair and square within the rules.

Did the third umpire make the right decision? Should the boundary rope’s position have been corrected earlier? As always in cricket, the smallest details can have the biggest impacts. This controversy will be discussed for years to come, regardless of which side you’re on.

Stay tuned to Brandsynario for the latest news and updates.