Cricket has its share of mind-boggling moments, often involving unusual dismissals or not-out or lesser-known rules that surprise even the most avid fans.

We have recently witnessed Angelo Mathews’ Time-Out dismissal during the World cup, which stunned the fans.

Now, the fans are shocked over an unusual ‘not-out’ decision because it challenges the cricket intellect of a casual fan.

In a recent ACT third-grade match between Western Districts and Ginninderra in Canberra, an unusual incident unfolded.

The ball hit the wicket, however, the middle stump was not removed from the ground while bails were also not dislodged. To everyone’s surprise, the umpires didn’t declare it out.

As per Law 29.1 in the MCC Laws of cricket, a batter is only out if the bail is entirely removed or if one or more stumps are entirely uprooted.

“According to Law 29.1, the wicket is broken when at least one bail is completely removed from the top of the stumps, or one or more stumps is removed from the ground,” the law states.

Cricket ACT shared an image of the moment on X (formerly Twitter) and called on fans to explain this uncommon occurrence.

Their caption read, “Things you don’t see every day… Explain this one from a Ginninderra-Wests game for us, cricket fans – how was this possible?”

The decision was shocking and interesting at the same time. It sparked different reactions and opinions from fans across the globe.

Stay tuned to Brandsynario for the latest news and updates.