Image Source: Dramaspice

TORONTO: The Kashmir 8th HUM Awards were a testament to the worldwide clout of Pakistan’s entertainment industry and the popularity of HUM TV, one of the country’s most established TV networks. Held in Toronto, Canada at the First Ontario Centre on 24th September 2022, the star-studded event featured well-loved stars and was attended by an audience of over 12,000. Many miles away from Pakistan, the masses of fans gathered on the red carpet and the huge crowd attending the awards ceremony were an indication of the immense following that HUM TV’s dramas have worldwide. Also taking place on the red carpet was a donation drive for Pakistan’s flood-affected areas where attendees could simply donate by scanning a particular QR code on their phones.

The enthusiasm and love received by this year’s awards are truly an eye-opener to the power of the HUM TV Network and Pakistan’s burgeoning entertainment industry. The Hum Awards is the only Pakistani entertainment show to regularly take place internationally and has received a tremendous response in the UAE, the USA, and in Canada. The event could not take place in 2020 and 2021 due to the coronavirus pandemic and the two year lapse seems to have had built public anticipation to a high.

Image Source: Bridesandyou

The event was off to a powerful start with the singing of the Pakistani and Canadian national anthems. The Pakistani celebrities who were especially in Toronto for the event came on stage and they were accompanied by thousands in the audience, all united while singing the Pakistani anthem together.

This was followed by the President of HUM TV Network, Sultana Siddiqui and CEO Duraid Qureshi, coming on stage and talking about the network’s consistent efforts towards organizing an event of this scale internationally and how it helps improve Pakistan’s global image. Sultana Siddiqui acknowledged the many achievements made by HUM TV even while in the midst of a pandemic and thanked the overseas audience at the event for their constant support. On a more somber note, she talked about the HUMDard initiative, which is entirely focused on giving back to society. During the coronavirus pandemic and now, in the face of the devastation wreaked by floods in Pakistan, the initiative continues with its rehabilitative efforts in rural Sindh. She asserted that the HUM TV Network will always be focused on helping out Pakistan and it was only by staying united that the nation could work towards a better future.

Image Source: Fashiontimesmagazine

Multiple celebrities hosted the evening, namely Ahsan Khan, Hareem Farooq, Ali Rehman Khan, Yasir Hussain, Ushna Shah, Aymen Saleem, Ahmed Ali Butt and Bilal Ashraf. The opening act for the night was a very funny rendition of the classic song Ko Ko Korina by Yasir Hussain and Ali Rehman Khan. Scheduled in between the awards announcements was a lineup of dazzling performances. The first performance of the night featured Farhan Saeed and Hania Aaamir. Later in the night, there was a musical act by Azaan Sami Khan, a dance performance by Bilal Ashraf and Mahira Khan, a musical act by Atif Aslam and a dance by Zara Noor Abbas and Urwa Hocane. There was also a hilarious comic act delivered by Ahmed Ali Butt.

Pakistani entertainment’s most prestigious names presented the awards; namely Sultana Siddiqui, Duraid Quraishi, Imran Ashraf, Bilal Ashraf, Anoushey Abbasi, Shahzad Sheikh, Adeel Hussain, Komal Mir, Urwa Hocane, Nomi Ansari, Iqra Aziz, Ahmed Ali Akbar, Ayeza Khan, Osman Khalid Butt, Naumaan Ijaz, Zeba Bakhtiar, Sania Saeed, Sonya Hussain, Bushra Ansari, Ahsan Khan, Reema Khan, Farhan Saeed, Hania Aamir, Atif Aslam and Mahira Khan.

The award nominations and winners were well-deserved. Spanning 2019, 2020 and 2021, they were a reminder of the high benchmarks that continue to be set by the Hum TV Network.

The winners were as follows:

Performance Award 2019

Ranjha Ranjha Kardi

Performance Award 2020


Performance Award – Soap

Wafa Bemol

Performance Award – Drama Serial

Yaar Na Bichray

Best New Sensation – Female

Hadiqa Kiani for Raqeeb Se and Aymen Saleem for Chupke Chupke

Best New Sensation – Male

Arslan Naseer for Chupke Chupke

Zaviyaar Naumaan Ejaz for Qissa Meherbano Ka

Momin Saqib for Raqs-e-Bismil

Best Supporting Actor – Female

Saboor Ali Ansari for Parizaad

Best Supporting Actor – Male

Adeel Afzal for Parizaad

Best Original Soundtrack


Most Impactful Character in a Serial

Sania Saeed for Raqeeb Se

Best Actor in a Negative Role

Ahsan Khan for Qissa Meherbano Ka and Shahzad Sheikh for Phaans

Best Writer Drama Serial

Hashim Nadeem for Parizaad

Best Director Drama Serial

Shahzad Kashmiri for Parizaad

Best On-Screen Couple – Popular

Osman Khalid Butt and Ayeza Khan for Chupke Chupke

Best Drama Serial – Popular


Best Actor Female – Popular

Ayeza Khan for Chupke Chupke

Best Actor Male – Popular

Ahmed Ali Akbar for Parizaad

Best On-Screen Couple – Jury

Osman Khalid Butt and Ayeza Khan for Chupke Chupke

Best Drama Serial – Jury


Best Actor Female – Jury

Iqra Aziz for Raqeeb Se

Best Actor Male – Jury

Ahmed Ali Akbar for Parizaad