The new year 2018 is just around the corner and after enjoying the long weekend for Quaid’s Day on the 25th of December, we surely did wonder when the next public holiday is due.

Public holidays in Pakistan are a pure source of joy for everyone. Holidays are observed as per the Islamic calendar for religious purposes and the Gregorian calendar for civil purposes. The longest holidays of the year are the ones designated to Eid-ul-Fitr and Eid-ul-Adha.


Religious festivals like Eid are celebrated according to the Islamic calendar whereas other national holidays like Kashmir Day, international labor day, Pakistan day and Quaid-i-Azam Day are celebrated according to the Gregorian calendar.

Here’s the complete list of Public Holidays for the year 2018!

Date Weekday Holiday Name Holiday Type
Jan 1 Monday New Year’s Day Optional Holiday
Feb 5 Monday Kashmir Day Public Holiday
Feb 13 Tuesday Shivaratri Optional Holiday
Feb 14 Wednesday Maha Shivaratri Hindu Holiday
Mar 2 Friday Holi National holiday, Hinduism
Mar 2 Friday Dulhandi Optional Holiday
Mar 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
Mar 23 Friday Pakistan Day Public Holiday
Mar 30 Friday Good Friday Christian, Common Local holidays
Apr 1 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
Apr 2 Monday Easter Monday National holiday, Christian
Apr 13 Friday Shab e-Meraj Optional Holiday
Apr 14 Saturday Baisakhi Observance
Apr 21 Saturday Eid e-Rizwan Optional Holiday
Apr 24 Tuesday Shab e-Barat Optional Holiday
Apr 29 Sunday Buddha Purnima Optional Holiday
May 1 Tuesday Labour Day Public Holiday
Jun 15 Friday Eid-ul-Fitr Day 1 Public Holiday
Jun 16 Saturday Eid-ul-Fitr Day 2 Public Holiday
Jun 17 Sunday Eid-ul-Fitr Day 3 Public Holiday
Jun 18 Monday Eid-ul-Fitr Day 4 Public Holiday
Jun 21 Thursday June Solstice Season
Jul 1 Sunday July 1 Bank Holiday Bank Holiday
Aug 14 Tuesday Independence Day Public Holiday
Aug 22 Wednesday Eid-ul-Azha Day 1 Public Holiday
Aug 22 Wednesday Birthday of Lord Zoroaster (Khordad Sal) Optional Holiday
Aug 23 Thursday Eid-ul-Azha Day 2 Public Holiday
Aug 24 Friday Eid-ul-Azha Day 3 Public Holiday
Aug 25 Saturday Eid-ul-Azha Day 4 Public Holiday
Aug 26 Sunday Raksha Bandhan Hindu Holiday
Sep 2 Sunday Janmashtami Hindu Holiday
Sep 2 Sunday Janam Ashtami Optional Holiday
Sep 6 Thursday Defence Day Observance
Sep 13 Thursday Ganesh Chaturthi Hindu Holiday
Sep 20 Thursday First Day of Ashura Public Holiday
Sep 21 Friday Second Day of Ashura Public Holiday
Sep 23 Sunday September equinox Season
Oct 10 Wednesday Navaratri Hindu Holiday
Oct 15 Monday Durga Pooja Optional Holiday
Oct 19 Friday Dussehra Hindu Holiday
Oct 19 Friday Dussehra Optional Holiday
Oct 24 Wednesday Birthday of Guru Balmik Sawami Ji Optional Holiday
Oct 31 Wednesday Chelum Optional Holiday
Nov 7 Wednesday Diwali/Deepavali Optional Holiday
Nov 7 Wednesday Diwali/Deepavali Observance, Hinduism
Nov 9 Friday Iqbal Day Public Holiday
Nov 9 Friday Iqbal Day Optional Holiday
Dec 21 Friday December Solstice Season
Dec 24 Monday Christmas Eve Observance
Dec 25 Tuesday Christmas Day Public Holiday
Dec 25 Tuesday Quaid-e-Azam Day Public Holiday
Dec 26 Wednesday Day After Christmas Observed by Christians