In its latest move, Higher Education Commission has banned as many as 13 prestigious universities from admitting students in MPhil and Ph.D. distance learning programs.

The bar has been imposed due to the noncompliance of these institutes with the HEC approved guidelines.

“Further admissions in any of the distance education programs being offered by universities are stopped immediately till finalization of recommendation by the committee,” stated HEC Consultant of Quality Assurance Division, Muhammad Ismail.

List of Banned Universities by HEC

Following universities have now been banned by the HEC Quality Assurance Division:

  • International Islamic University, Islamabad;
  • Virtual Campus, COMSATS Institute of Information Technology, Islamabad,
  • University of Peshawar, Peshawar;
  • Gomal University, Dera Ismail Khan;
  • Government College University, Faisalabad;
  • University of Agriculture, Faisalabad;
  • The University of Faisalabad;
  • Islamia University, Bahawalpur;
  • Bahauddin Zakariya University, Multan;
  • Sukkur IBA;
  • Shah Abdul Latif University, Khairpur;
  • University of Sindh, Jamshoro and
  • University of Balochistan, Quetta.

Almost 4000 students will be impacted by HEC’s new order. However, immediate efforts are being done to shift students to the regular discipline of the universities to ensure that there is no loss of studies.

Stay tuned to Brandsynario for more updates.