The Higher Education Commission (HEC) has banned three medical universities from admissions in the postgraduate medical and dental programs.

According to Dawn, the educational institutes have been barred from admitting students for a period of one-year i.e, until Nov 2019.

Following are the three medical universities that have been barred from admissions:

  1.  Faisalabad Medical University (FMU)
  2. Nishtar Medical University (NMU), Multan
  3. Rawalpindi Medical University (RMU)

These institutes were established by the Punjab government in 2017 by upgrading various colleges.

HEC Hungary Scholarship 2019 for Pakistani Students

Apparently, HEC’s action is a result of the provincial government’s inability to make these institutes fully functional as per HEC’s rule and regulations. The three medical varsities did not have any constituent medical colleges, which is a compulsory rule to get recognition.

A detailed report by the Higher Education Commission stated:

“The requirement of having a constituent medical & dental college as a recognition requirement of the PMDC Ordinance 1962 (Amendment Act 2012 XIX) shall be ensured and the notification of the constituent college shall be issued by the government of the Punjab”

Consequently, the three universities have been given a deadline of Nov 2019 to get recognition status from the Pakistan Medical & Dental Council (PMDC).

HEC’s report further adds:

“Since MBBS is a professional discipline, hence, as per practice, the HEC will only verify degrees of those graduates who have been registered with the PMDC as registered medical practitioners”

What’s more, HEC has also declared it compulsory for the varsities to obtain a No Objection Certificate (NOC) prior their launch from for postgraduate programmes the Quality Assurance Division.

Illegal/Fake Institutions List Released by HEC

Stay tuned to Brandsynario for more updates.