UPDATE: Fast Bowler Mohammad Amir, who has spent jail time and served a five-year long ban for spot-fixing, has finally been granted the New Zealand Visa to play Pakistan’s limited overs matches later in January, immigration officials stated on Thursday.

Michael Carley, the INZ Area Manager stated, “Immigration New Zealand (INZ) can confirm that a visitor visa has been approved for Mohammad Amir to travel as part of the Pakistan Cricket Team set to tour New Zealand this month.”

“In making this decision, INZ considered factors including the support of the New Zealand and Pakistan Cricket Board and that Amir had served his sentence for his previous actions.”

Left-Arm Bowler Mohammad Amir was chosen in Pakistan’s T20 and ODI squad for the forthcoming New Zealand’s limited-overs tour. Looks like Amir’s dream of playing for Pakistani team has been fulfilled this New Year’s. Amir’s selection has been done by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) selection panel.

This is Mohammad Amir’s first national selection since he returned after serving his 5-year long ban for sport fixing in the 2010 Lord’s Test; Amir has undergone the toughest times of his career during this period.

Mohammad Amir is truly grateful for the opportunity and declares that his dedication will surely reflect in his performance.

[fb_embed_post href=”” width=”550″/]

His inclusion was subject to the grant of visa by the New Zealand’s government. Due to Mohammad Amir serving jail time for the spot-fixing, New Zealand’s Visa was thought to be a problem for the player; the PCB was however confident that this will not be an issue.

Rasheed supported the selection of the 23-year-old fast bowler; “there is always a difference between normal and extraordinary players”.

While talking to ESPNcricinfo, Rasheed said; “We are not undermining other players and forcing him [back] but there is always a difference between normal and extraordinary players. We are not axing anyone to bring him in. They are all part of the circuit and part and parcel of our planning.”

Shahid Afridi is to lead Pakistan’s campaign for the three T20s.

Afridi and Amir

The ODI team is to be led by Azhar Ali, who along with Mohammad Hafeez, strongly opposed Amir’s return in the national camp and threatened to quit as the captain.

ODI squad: Azhar Ali (capt), Shoaib Malik, Ahmed Shehzad, Asad Shafiq, Zafar Gohar, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Sohaib Maqsood, Mohammad Amir, Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed, Wahab Raiz, Rahat Ali, Mohammed Irfan and Mohammad Rizwan.

T20 squad: Shahid Afridi (capt), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Sarfraz Ahmed, Umar Gul, Sohaib Maqsood, Shoaib Malik, Iftikhar Ahmed, Anwar Ali , Umar Akmal, Imad Wasim, Aamer Yamin, Wahab Riaz, Saad Nasim, Mohammad Rizwan and Mohammad Amir.

Imran Khan Supports Mohammad Amir’s Return To Cricket

Pakistan is scheduled to play a three-match T20I series and three ODIs from January 15th in New Zealand. The three T20s will take place on January 15th, 17th and 22nd while the ODIs will be held on January 25th, 28th and 31st.

Stay tuned to Brandsynario for more updates.