The former Pakistani skipper Misbah-ul-Haq and his companion Younis Khan have been listed on Wisden’s prestigious five “Cricketers of the Year” list, the publication announced on Wednesday.

English trio of Ben Duckett, Chris Woakes and Toby Roland-Jones have also made the list.


“Misbah-ul-Haq was central to one of the most riveting series in England for years,” writes Booth. “His century in the First Test at Lord’s set a benchmark for his team-mates, while his celebratory press-ups became one of the motifs of the year. Against the odds, he led Pakistan, without a home Test since 2009, to the top of the rankings – and all at the age of 42.”

“With the pressure on, Younis Khan delivered. His classy 218 in the final Test of the summer, at The Oval, helped Pakistan square the series after successive defeats had left them in danger of squandering their win at Lord’s. It was his 32nd Test hundred – and a reminder that his struggles earlier in the series had been a blip rather than part of a decline.”

It is the first time in 21 years that two Pakistan cricketers have been named in Wisden’s list. Previously, Saeed Anwar and Mushtaq Ahmed were named Wisden’s cricketers of the year in 1997.

Indian Captain and young talent Virat Kohli received the “Leading Cricketer in the World” title from the new edition of  Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack. He is the third Indian, after Virender Sehwag and Sachin Tendulkar to have received this honour.

Wisden Cricketers of the Year

2010 Stuart Broad Michael Clarke Graham Onions Matt Prior Graeme Swann
2011 Tamim Iqbal Eoin Morgan Chris Read Jonathan Trott Not awarded
2012 Tim Bresnan Alastair Cook Glen Chapple Alan Richardson Kumar Sangakkara
2013 Nick Compton Hashim Amla Jacques Kallis Dale Steyn Marlon Samuels
2014] Shikhar Dhawan Charlotte Edwards Ryan Harris Chris Rogers Joe Root
2015 Moeen Ali Gary Ballance Adam Lyth Angelo Mathews Jeetan Patel
2016 Jonny Bairstow Brendon McCullum Steve Smith Ben Stokes Kane Williamson
2017 Ben Duckett Younis Khan Misbah-ul-Haq Toby Roland-Jones Chris Woakes

Stay tuned to Brandsynario for more news and updates.

Farewell Misbah ul Haq: Reign of the ‘Tuk Tuk’ Era Comes to an End